It’s my party – I’ll cry if I want to

I love this picture. The pint sized male model, whilst looking rather sweet in his haute couture outfit, is not impressed. The little boy, who closely resembles a cherub, cried every step of the way down the catwalk as he modelled for Smalto at a Paris fashion show. Understandably so, he’s been forced into a three piece suit, told to walk down a runway with strangers clapping and members of the world press clamouring for photographs – in no socks!

I have nothing against modelling, but getting a four year old child to do it? I know kids wear clothes too but I doubt there’s much occasion for them to be in a dinner jacket. And this just seems a little gratuitous.

Thankfully, model Alxandre Cunha had the sense to pick up the kid. A happy ending of sorts.

Leave a comment