True Romance

An offhand comment courtesy of Radio 1 DJ, Dev, got me thinking about dates. I don’t mean the fruit  – although I am partial to a few in my porridge.

No, I was thinking of the wonderful world of dating. Everyone seems to have a disastrous first date story to tell. Maybe when going in for a kiss you were sick in the guys mouth. Maybe after having a lovely meal, your date excuses himself to go to the bathroom – only, he actually leaves the restaurant and you’re stuck with the bill. Or maybe, you were just plain stood up.

In all honesty, I don’t know why we put so much pressure on a first date. I know first impressions are important but isn’t the average time it takes us to form a judgment ridiculously little? So surely if you can get past that hurdle, without your prospective life partner running a mile in the opposite direction; pouring gravy into your lap isn’t that bad? Besides,  it could be one of those things you joke about in the future or you laugh awkwardly and change the subject.

I guess dating still is the one effective way we have to get know a romantic partner. And for now, to every single girl out there – nothing can quite beat first date jitters.

Leave a comment